Home > Reviews > BACZYŃSKI – Bartosz Chajdecki

BACZYŃSKI – Bartosz Chajdecki

baczynskiOriginal Review by Jonathan Broxton

Baczyński is a film about the life of Krzysztof Kamil Baczyński, one of Poland’s most celebrated contemporary poets, who wrote powerful, romantic poetry while also acting as a member of a resistance movement against the Nazis during World War II. He was killed by a sniper in Warsaw in August 1944, aged just 23, but remains a popular and influential figure in Polish literature. The film was written and directed by Kordian Piwowarski, stars Mateusz Kosciukiewicz as Baczyński, and features a gorgeous and heartfelt score by Bartosz Chajdecki.

The opening and closing pieces, both titled “Miasto”, contain the City theme, reflecting the relationship between war-torn Warsaw in the 1940s, and the thriving cosmopolitan city is it today. The theme is actually unexpectedly contemporary, with guitars and a subtle orchestral accompaniment overlaid with modern, rhythmic synth elements which seem a little anachronistic given the setting for the film, but in musical terms it’s interesting, especially when a more jangly, folk-like feeling enters in the second performance of the theme.

However, this modernity quickly gives way to more classical writing, firstly in “Preludium”, a hesitant, intimate piano motif which gradually grows to incorporate hooting, Kilar-esque bassoons and, eventually, an emotional and stirring string theme. This heartfelt emotion, which is explored further in “Preludium – Wersja II” later in the score, typifies much of the rest of the score, as it explores the life, death and legacy of a man who gave everything for his country.

There’s a mysterious, moody depiction of Poland’s famed Tatra Mountains in “Tatry”; a beautiful piano/cello duet in the engrossing “Spojrzenie”, featuring a virtuoso performance by pianist Marek Szlezer which gradually increases in passion and intensity; more Wojciech Kilar influences in the deeply passionate “Retrospekcja”; and softly lamenting voices against a sweeping string dirge and solemn, stately piano chords in “Wojna” and the subsequent “Podroz”. My personal favorite cue, however, is the scintillating “Uwertura” – the Ghetto Overture – which features a spellbinding, classically rich violin solo that reminds me in parts of Ennio Morricone’s astonishing concerto from Canone Inverso, with all the positive connections that implies.

The soundtrack album, which is available for download via the 7-Digital platform, mixes excerpts from Chajdecki’s score with readings of several of Baczyński’s most celebrated poems; Chajdecki’s portions of the score run for around half an hour, and are well worth seeking out.

Buy the Baczyński soundtrack from the Movie Music UK Store

Track Listing:

  • Miasto (2:03)
  • Preludium (4:34)
  • Samotnosc (1:32)
  • Tatry (1:31)
  • Spojrzenie (poetry reading by Jan Gabriel Szutkowski) (1:58)
  • Wojna (1:57)
  • Retrospekcja (3:46)
  • Pragnienia (poetry reading by Weronika Lewandowska) (1:41)
  • Spojrzenie (4:03)
  • Elegia (poetry reading by Kuba Malinowski) (1:56)
  • Preludium – Wersja II (3:17)
  • Jesien Pragnien (poetry reading by Jan Gabriel Szutkowski) (1:27)
  • Uwertura (1:43)
  • Szpital (poetry reading by Kamila Janiak) (1:59)
  • Wojna – Wersja II (1:56)
  • Byles Jak Wielkie Stare Drzewo… (poetry reading by Marta Marciniak) (1:48)
  • Podroz (1:53)
  • Z Glowa Na Karabinie (poetry reading by Janusz Jamanta Kulesza) (1:10)
  • Wybor (poetry reading by Jan Pawel Kowalewicz) (1:52)
  • Miasto 2 (2:46)
  • Baczynski – Piesn O Szczesciu (poetry reading by Mela Koteluk) (3:20)

Running Time: 48 minutes 12 seconds

7-Digital Media (2013)

  1. March 17, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to say that I have really loved browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: