Archive for January, 2020

Academy Award Nominations 2019

January 13, 2020 Leave a comment

oscarstatuette The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) have announced the nominations for the 92nd Academy Awards, honoring the best in film in 2019.

In the Best Original Score category, the nominees are:

  • ALEXANDRE DESPLAT for Little Women
  • RANDY NEWMAN for Marriage Story
  • THOMAS NEWMAN for 1917
  • JOHN WILLIAMS for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

This is the first Oscar nomination for Guðnadóttir, and the eleventh nomination for Desplat, who previously won for The Grand Budapest Hotel in 2014, and for The Shape of Water in 2017. The Newman cousins now have 22 nominations between them – nine for Randy, and thirteen for Thomas – but neither have previously had a Best Score win.

Incredibly, this is the 52nd Oscar nomination for John Williams, which breaks his own record for the most nominated living person, and maintains his position as the second most nominated person of all time after Walt Disney (who had 59). He previously won Academy Awards for Fiddler on the Roof in 1971, Jaws in 1975, Star Wars in 1977, E. T. The Extra-Terrestrial in 1982, and Schindler’s List in 1993.

In the Best Original Song category, the nominees are:

  • KRISTEN ANDERSON-LOPEZ and ROBERT LOPEZ for “Into the Unknown” from Frozen II
  • JOSHUAH BRIAN CAMPBELL and CYNTHIA ERIVO for “Stand Up” from Harriet
  • ELTON JOHN and BERNIE TAUPIN for “I’m Gonna Love Me Again” from Rocketman
  • RANDY NEWMAN for “I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” from Toy Story 4
  • DIANE WARREN for “I’m Standing With You” from Breakthrough

The winners of the 92nd Academy Awards will be announced on February 9, 2020.

1917 – Thomas Newman

January 11, 2020 2 comments

Original Review by Jonathan Broxton

1917 is an astonishing, emotionally overwhelming, technical masterpiece of a film set in northern France during World War I. Directed by Sam Mendes and based in part on the experiences of his own grandfather during the war, the film stars George Mackay and Dean-Charles Chapman as Schofield and Blake, two young English soldiers serving in the trenches on the front lines. When some vitally important military intelligence is conveyed to their commanding officer, Schofield and Blake are tasked with delivering a message to another unit half a dozen miles away, with orders that would stop a platoon of 1,600 soldiers – including Blake’s brother – from falling into a German trap and being massacred. In order to deliver the message the pair must journey on foot deep into enemy territory, overcoming obstacles and enduring incredible physical and mental hardships, in a manner which illustrates how devastating war is for everyone involved. Read more…

BAFTA Nominations 2019

January 7, 2020 Leave a comment

baftaThe British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced the nominations for the 73rd British Academy Film Awards, honoring the best in film in 2019.

In the Best Original Music category, which is named in memory of the film director Anthony Asquith, the nominees are:

  • ALEXANDRE DESPLAT for Little Women
  • MICHAEL GIACCHINO for Jojo Rabbit
  • THOMAS NEWMAN for 1917
  • JOHN WILLIAMS for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

This is the tenth BAFTA nomination for Desplat, who won for “The King’s Speech” in 2010, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” in 2014, and “The Shape of Water” in 2018; the second nomination for Giacchino, who previously won for “Up” in 2009; and the seventh nomination for Newman, who won for “American Beauty” in 1999 and “Skyfall” in 2012. It is the first nomination for Guđnadóttir.

The nomination for The Rise of Skywalker marks the the eighteenth nomination for Williams, who has seven previous BAFTAs for “Jaws” in 1975, “Star Wars” in 1978, “The Empire Strikes Back” in 1980, “E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial” in 1982, “Empire of the Sun” in 1988, “Schindler’s List” in 1993, and “Memoirs of a Geisha” in 2005, and further increased his standing as the most-nominated composer in BAFTA history.

The winners of the 73rd BAFTA Awards will be announced on 2 February, 2020.

Categories: News and Announcements Tags: ,

Under-the-Radar Round Up 2019, Part IV

January 6, 2020 Leave a comment

I am pleased to present the fourth installment in my ongoing series of articles looking at the best “under the radar” scores from around the world in 2019. Rather than grouping the scores on a geographical basis, this year I decided to simply present the scores in a random order, and so this fourth batch again includes reviews of seven more disparate scores all around the world – including two TV scores from Spain, a psychological thriller score from Italy, a horror movie from Morocco, a Chinese drama TV series, a comedy from Argentina, and an intimate love story from Vietnam! Read more…

Golden Globe Winners 2019

January 5, 2020 Leave a comment

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) have announced the winners of the 77th Golden Globe Awards, honoring the best in film and American television of 2019.

In the Best Original Score category composer Hildur Guđnadóttir won the award for her challenging score for the comic book action-drama film Joker, a revisionist look at the origin story of Batman’s arch-nemesis. This is Guđnadóttir’s first Golden Globe, and in winning the award becomes the first solo female composer to win Best Score. The only other female composer to win was Lisa Gerrard, who shared the award for Gladiator with Hans Zimmer in 2000. In her acceptance speech, Guđnadóttir said:

“Wow. I thought they forgot the music! Well, this is truly… I’m speechless. This is unbelievable. Thank you Hollywood Foreign Press. Thank you Todd (Phillips) for inviting me on the journey of a lifetime, for all the trust and faith and your openness. Thank you, Joaquin (Phoenix) for making my job really easy with a spectacular, unbelievable performance. It’s mindblowing. Thank you Jason Ruder, music editor, for your fantastic job. Truly incredible. Conductor Jeff Atmajian. My brothers Gunnartin, Asthor, and Gunnarsson. My agent Patty, of course. My incredible family, and my mother, my husband and score producer Sam, my beautiful son Cody. That’s everything!”

The other nominees were Alexandre Desplat for Little Women, Randy Newman for Marriage Story, Thomas Newman for 1917, and Daniel Pemberton for Motherless Brooklyn

In the Best Original Song category, the winners were Elton John and Bernie Taupin for their song “I’m Gonna Love Me Again” from Rocketman, the biopic of John’s life starring Taron Egerton.

The other nominees were Cynthia Erivo and Joshuah Brian Campbell for “Stand Up” from Harriet; Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, Timothy McKenzie, and Ilya Salmanzadeh for “Spirit” from The Lion King; Robert Lopez and Kristin Anderson-Lopez for “Into the Unknown” from Frozen II; and Taylor Swift and Andrew Lloyd Webber for “Beautiful Ghosts” from Cats.