Home > Reviews > ENTRAPMENT – Christopher Young

ENTRAPMENT – Christopher Young

http://soundtrack.ucoz.com/Original Review by Jonathan Broxton

Entrapment is Chris Young’s second big-budget action score in as many years and is an ideal comparison to the work he undertook for Hard Rain because, if nothing else, it effectively demonstrates Young’s ability to tackle similarly-themed movies in vastly different ways. Whereas Hard Rain was firmly rooted firmly in the musical traditions of the American midwest, Entrapment is a fluid, hi-tec action score which combines efficient, modern orchestral grooves with the some unexpected textures and styles. The film itself is a flawed, but audience-friendly thriller about a beautiful insurance investigator who teams up with an aging breaking-and-entering expert with the express intent of fingering him for the high-profile robbery she thinks he has committed. Things become a little more complicated, though, when he persuades her to join him in undertaking a final, ambitious break-in, and then get even worse when she inexplicably finds herself falling for him in a big way. Disregarding the unlikely love interest between sixty-something Sean Connery and twenty-something Catherine Zeta-Jones, Entrapment works well as an “event picture”, providing the right combination of thrills, spills and technobabble to keep increasingly touchy viewers happy. Most of all, though, it is highly satisfying to finally see Young getting a much-deserved and long overdue shot at the Hollywood big time.

Quite a lot of Entrapment can be adequately summed up as being either “thriller music”, consisting of undulating synth pad grooves and a soothing string backup; or “suspense music”, with fluttering string rushes punctuated by sharp horn trills and dense piano clusters. To Young’s credit, though, his own take on this rather familiar scoring style never becomes tired or uninteresting. Unlike composers such as Hans Zimmer, and to a lesser extent Graeme Revell, who can write scores like this in their sleep, Young is comparatively inexperienced in this genre, and has had the good sense not to rest on his laurels. Throughout the score, Young fiddles around with varying tempos, experiments with unusual forms of dissonance, and makes surprising alterations to the orchestration in an effort to keep the listener off-guard and wondering what he will come up with next.

The synths, in the context of the film, are entirely appropriate, and lend the score a modern-sounding, contemporary edge. Several tracks stand out as being particularly excellent examples of this – ‘Saints and Sinners’, ‘Millennium Countdown’ and ‘Try, Then Trust’ are all notable for their driven electronic pacing; ‘Bright Moments’ and ‘Blackmail’ both adopt the throbbing, echoing brasses heard in Hard Rain; ‘The Dancing Jars’ features a shrill piccolo motif; ‘Wondering Aloud’ incorporates an electric guitar into the underscore, and the final cue, ‘Thank God’, cleverly augments a lovely string theme and a pulsating techno beat. The score does have its fair share of attractive moments as well – the beautiful love theme is afforded its fullest and most lush rendition in ‘La Fleur de la Musique’, while ‘Fayeth In Fate’ and the elegant ‘Alive Again’ are all highly reminiscent of the provatively moody piano parts of Young’s 1995 score Copycat. In addition, ‘Kuala Lumpur’ features the score’s one nod to non-standard scoring, a fascinating cue laced with the sounds of eerily evocative woodwinds and oddly bowed strings which conjure up images of faraway places.

Although Entrapment is unlikely to generate a whole slew of Chris Young fans, it is nevertheless an interesting and wholly enjoyable instalment in the career of a composer who seems to be finally shedding his mantle of a horror-only composer. His determined genre-hopping antics over the last couple of years seem to finally be paying dividends and, with the continued support of directors like John Dahl and Jon Amiel and studios like Miramax, there could be terrific times ahead.

Rating: ***½

Buy the Entrapment soundtrack from the Movie Music UK Store

Track Listing:

  • Entrapment (2:20)
  • Saints and Sinners (3:58)
  • Fayeth In Fate (1:57)
  • Bright Moments (2:19)
  • The Dancing Jars (1:07)
  • Blackmail (2:45)
  • Who’s Who? (3:04)
  • Heist Society (3:36)
  • A Certain Uncertainty (3:12)
  • Le Fleur De La Musique (1:59)
  • Kuala Lumpur (1:19)
  • Impossible, But Doable (1:36)
  • Thieving (4:12)
  • Wondering Aloud (2:54)
  • Silent Partner (1:31)
  • The Empress Mask (7:23)
  • Millennium Countdown (1:30)
  • Alive Again (1:59)
  • Try, Then Trust (2:11)
  • Thank God (4:05)

Running Time: 55 minutes 00 seconds

Restless Records 01877-73518-2 (1999)

Music composed by Christopher Young. Conducted by Pete Anthony. Performed by The Philharmonia Orchestra. Orchestrations by Pete Anthony, Jon Kull and Bruce Babcock. Recorded and mixed by Geoff Foster. Album produced by Christopher Young.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: