Home > Reviews > Academy Award Winners 2022

Academy Award Winners 2022

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) have announced the winners of the 95th Academy Awards, honoring the best in film in 2022.

In the Best Original Score category composer Volker Bertelmann won the award for his score for the new version of the classic anti-war story All Quiet on the Western Front, based on the all-time great novel by Erich Maria Remarque. In accepting his award, Bertelmann said:

“Well, thank you so much, thanks to the Academy for this huge recognition. When I was working on the film I was thinking a couple of times of my mom, because she was telling me, every now and then, when you want to change humanity and empathy in the world, you have to start by yourself and with your own surroundings, because you learn by that and you can show actually where we all – how we all can live together. So, you know, by working on a film like that you always are deeply touched and sometimes you have to make the screen very small because there are so much explosions happening. I want to say thank you to my wife, Elizabeth, and my kids up there, Lotte, Paulina, and Lucas. To Malthe Grunert and Edward Berger, and the whole cast and crew, for their amazing craftsmanship. To Netflix for their huge support. And to my fellow nominees, Carter, John, Justin, Son Lux, that I can be a part of such a unique, human, and diverse group of talented composers, that’s for me a big gift. And last but not least I want to thank all of you, for this wonderful evening. Thank you so much!

The other nominees were Carter Burwell for The Banshees of Inisherin, Justin Hurwitz for Babylon, Ryan Lott, Rafiq Bhatia, and Ian Chang (Son Lux) for Everything Everywhere All at Once, and John Williams or The Fabelmans.

In the Best Original Song category, the winners were M. M. Keeravani and Kanukuntla Subhash Chandrabose for “Naatu Naatu” from the smash hit Bollywood movie RRR.

The other nominees were Stephanie Germanotta (Lady Gaga) and Michael Tucker (Bloodpop) for “Hold My Hand” from Top Gun: Maverick, Ryan Lott, David Byrne, and Mituski Miyawaki (Mitski) for “This Is A Life” from Everything Everywhere All At Once, Temilade Openiyi (Tems), Robyn Rihanna Fenty, Ryan Coogler, and Ludwig Göransson for “Lift Me Up” from Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, and Diane Warren for “Applause” from Tell It Like A Woman.

Categories: Reviews Tags: , ,
  1. March 13, 2023 at 4:37 pm

    One of the worst Oscar wins for best original score ever!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: