Home > Reviews > OCEAN’S THIRTEEN – David Holmes


Original Review by Jonathan Broxton

The third of director Steven Soderbergh’s crime capers, starring George Clooney, Brad Pitt and Matt Damon reprising their roles from the previous films, Ocean’s Thirteen sees the erstwhile Danny Ocean and his gang of affable crooks attempting to sabotage the grand opening of a new Vegas casino owned by the nefarious Willy Bank (Al Pacino), in retaliation for a goon attack on Ocean’s friend Reuben Tishkoff (Elliot Gould).

With a stellar cast and general air of good-natured bad boys having fun, the music for the film is a perfect reflection of the mood of the piece. Irish composer David Holmes returns, having scored the previous two installments; however, whereas Ocean’s 11 and Ocean’s 12 tended to sound like random instrumentals rather than a ‘proper’ score, Ocean’s 13 does at least attempt some kind of mood development and formal score structure, making it probably the most satisfying musical effort of the trilogy.

Holmes’s ensemble remains consistent: a modern string section, jazz percussion, Hammond organs and blaring horns, bass woodwinds and electric guitars to be the order of the day throughout the score, encompassing perfectly the permeating feel of Vegas cool that has run through the entire film series to date. Loungy 1960s rhythms which sound like they could have come from pen of a young John Barry or Jerry Goldsmith combine with a heavy dose of 1970s funk, and although most of the tracks are very much rooted in the same style and feel, the album as a whole is a pleasing diversion.

Isao Tomita’s space-age performance of Debussy’s “Suite Bergamasque” from Claire De Lune on a Moog synthesizer is a nostalgic oddity, but you can never go wrong with a bit of Sinatra to round things out, proving once and for all that the Rat Pack reigns supreme.

Rating: ***

Track Listing:

  • Not Their Fight (1:17)
  • 11, 12 & 13 (1:57)
  • Benedict Returns (1:48)
  • Kensington Chump (1:40)
  • Trapdoor Man (1:07)
  • Laptops (0:56)
  • Zippo’s (0:41)
  • Shit! Shit! Shit! (2:02)
  • Dice Men (1:54)
  • Diamond Location (1:08)
  • The Nose (2:30)
  • Caravan (performed by Puccio Roelens) (3:28)
  • Suite Bergamasque, Claire De Lune, No. 3 (performed by Isao Tomita) (5:51)
  • Grand Opening (2:12)
  • Earthquake (1:35)
  • Fender Roads (2:38)
  • Snake Eyes (2:57)
  • All Sewn Up (3:14)
  • This Town (performed by Frank Sinatra) (3:02)
  • Soul Town (performed by The Motherhood) (2:29)

Running Time: 44 minutes 20 seconds

Warner Sunset/Warner Brothers 147964-2 (2007)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: